First Listen: Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall by Coldplay

My sister once said that Chris Martin of Coldplay was brilliant. When I questioned this she replied, ‘He just is.’ While I think her opinion probably had something to do with the fact that he snared the heart of Gwyneth Paltrow, who has a decent voice herself, there’s no doubt that Martin is revered by many.
Myself? Well I enjoy Viva La Vida, Yellow and Fix You, and I once bought X&Y in an op shop for $2 (then never really listened to it), but I wouldn’t really call myself a huge fan. I can understand why they’re extremely popular though; their music has many positive qualities, and they seem to be able to ensure that every album has at least a couple of great tracks that get played to death for a few months.
So their new track, Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall, isn’t too bad, having decided to do what all the cool kids are doing and add a synth. Probably could’ve tried a little harder with the title lyric though.

This entry was posted in First Listen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

